Several accrediting bodies offer voluntary accreditation of massage programs and/or schools including the Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation (COMTA), the National Accrediting Commission of Arts and Sciences (NACCAS), the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSC), and the Accrediting Bureau …
Is going to massage therapy school worth it?
Massage school is a great stepping stone. If you are just graduating high school or looking to transition careers, massage school is a great stepping stone for that. It pays more than your regular retail job making it ideal for a student needing to make their way to college.
What is the difference between certified and licensed massage therapy?
Another contrast with licensure is that, under a licensing law, practitioners of the licensed occupation must have a license in order to practice. It is involuntary. On the other hand, certification is voluntary. A person does not have to be certified in order to practice.
Is massage therapy a respected career?
It turns out that massage therapists are significantly more happy with their jobs than many American workers. In comparison, only 51% of U.S. workers reported feeling overall satisfaction with their careers in a recent survey by The Conference Board.
How do I get nationally certified as a massage therapist?
An approved school or course consists of at least 500 hours of didactic massage training. In addition, the training must include 100 hours of in classroom training in Anatomy and Physiology, 200 hours of training on massage theory and application, and 2 hours of massage ethics.
Why I quit being a massage therapist?
Most people quit being massage therapists because of physical wear-and-tear. It is hard on your hands (particulary thumbs), even when you use proper technique and practice self care. Another problem in the field is the fact that a person may be a great massage therapist, but a terrible business person.
Can a massage therapist make 6 figures?
A Massage Therapy Business – How to Make Six Figures in Your Massage Therapist Business. This article discusses if and how a massage therapist really can make six figures in their massage therapy business. Truthfully, the median income for massage therapists is below $50,000 per year. Many earn much less than this.
Why is massage a Licence profession?
Professional licensing laws also enhance public safety by enforcing disciplinary actions against non-compliant practitioners. … Legal recognition of massage therapy through licensure protects the public through establishing a consistent standard of practice which is enforceable by a professional code of ethics.
Which states do not require a license to practice massage therapy?
Practicing Massage Therapy Without a License
Wyoming, Vermont, Oklahoma, Minnesota, or Kansas are states that do not require a massage license. While these are the only states where you can be a massage therapist without out license, there may be additional requirements.
How much does a LMT make?
The national average annual wage of an massage therapist is $47,180, according to the latest data from the BLS.
What are the cons of being a massage therapist?
Your hours are limited
There are only so many hours in a day and you might not want to work overtime in this physically-demanding line of work. Most massage therapists work between 15 to 30 hours per week and recognize that hours are limited to what each person is physically and mentally capable of handling.
What is the highest paid massage therapist?
Best-Paying States for Massage Therapists
The states and districts that pay Massage Therapists the highest mean salary are Alaska ($77,080), Washington ($65,770), Oregon ($62,130), Hawaii ($59,770), and Massachusetts ($57,530).
Can you make a living as a massage therapist?
A career in massage therapy will not make you wealthy.
A career in massage therapy will not make you wealthy. In fact, you may need to have a second job in order to make a decent living. If you are paid on commission, you are likely to be paid anywhere from 30–50 percent of the total price of the massage.
How long does it take to become a certified massage therapist?
CMTs in California take 500 hours of massage education and training and at least 250 of those hours must be at an approved California massage therapy school. The other 250 hours may be through a school or through a continuing education provider.
Can you become a massage therapist online?
At the moment, our research has found that the U.S. Career Institute Degree Program in Massage Therapy appears to be the only school offering a massage therapy program ONLINE and it is 100 PERCENT online!
What is the most common designation conferred upon a professional massage practitioner?
The most recognized professional certification for massage therapists is issued by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB). Certification is awarded to those who meet education and training requirements, and who have also passed a comprehensive certification exam.